Sunday, November 30, 2008

Day 132


This is my across-the-street neighbor's house. I love when they turn their lights on, because it puts a soft holiday glow all throughout *my* house, without me having to do a single thing!

Saturday, November 29, 2008

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Day 129

Beautiful detailing you just don't see in new houses...

Monday, November 24, 2008

Day 128

This from the side of a building in town...I don't know if it's truly an old sign - the top is a water pump...and the the wooden letters under the window, look like they end with "shop," but I don't know the first part of the word.

Sunday, November 23, 2008

Day 127


It's beginning to look a little like Christmas...

Saturday, November 22, 2008

Day 126


have you ever seen a nightime rainbow??

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

Day 124


Well, well, well, just look at that shiny new section of fence. I wonder why got that new section of fence...hmmm...could it be...because my DAUGHTER drove through their fence?? YES! Sheesh. She's fine, the car is fine, the ex paid to fix the fence, no harm done, but...sheesh.

Sorry for the boring picture. But at least it has a personal story behind it.

Monday, November 17, 2008

Sunday, November 16, 2008

Friday, November 14, 2008

Day 121 ~ Skywatch Friday


This is actually the sky on Veteran's Day, before we turned to rain and foggy grey. It was a really lovely day...you can see we're just about at the end of our foliage season, as the leaves that are left are turning russet and soon will be gone altogether....
Be sure to check out other Skywatch photos from all around the world, at http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Thursday, November 13, 2008

Day 120

"How silently they tumble down
And come to rest upon the ground
To lay a carpet, rich and rare,
Beneath the trees without a care,
Content to sleep, their work well done,
Colors gleaming in the sun.

At other times, they wildly fly
Until they nearly reach the sky.
Twisting, turning through the air
Till all the trees stand stark and bare.
Exhausted, drop to earth below
To wait, like children, for the snow."
~ Elsie N. Brady, Leaves

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Day 118

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.
~ John Fitzgerald Kennedy

Monday, November 10, 2008

Day 117


"The thinnest yellow light of November is more warming and exhilarating than any wine they tell of. The mite which November contributes becomes equal in value to the bounty of July."
~ Henry David Thoreau

Sunday, November 9, 2008

Day 116


"I like spring, but it is too young. I like summer, but it is too proud. So I like best of all autumn, because its tone is mellower, its colours are richer, and it is tinged with a little sorrow. Its golden richness speaks not of the innocence of spring, nor the power of summer, but of the mellowness and kindly wisdom of approaching age. It knows the limitations of life and its content." ~ Lin Yutang

Saturday, November 8, 2008

Friday, November 7, 2008

Day 114 - Skywatch Friday


Look! Up in the sky! It's a bird! It's a plane! Uhm, no. It's sneakers.
For more sky shots, visit the Skywatch Friday site

Thursday, November 6, 2008

Day 113 - or should I say NIGHT 113 ?!


the busses were nestled all snug in their beds, while visions of schoolchildren danced in their heads...

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Day 112


I know I've taken this same shot before, during the summer...but I got in my car this morning to head for work, and the flag just struck me really strongly.

I have to say, I would never vote or not vote for someone based on their race or color...but the fact that an African American has been voted to the American presidency is, for me, the cherry on the top of the election outcome. It makes me SO PROUD of this country, and of the American people, that they were able to make this decision, in spite of an issue that since the beginning of our nation's history has BEEN an issue, however wrong. I hope I'm making sense :-) *I* know what I mean. I just wanted to say I'm Proud of America today...and seeing the flag waving this morning just epitomized that for me.

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

Day 111


This was my view as I left the polling place this morning where I voted. Have you voted yet?


Sunday, November 2, 2008

Day 110

Sunday night already...tomorrow it's back to work...how does time go so fast??